Cloud County moves up to No. 4 in USTFCCCA poll

Cloud County moves up to No. 4 in USTFCCCA poll


Barton (Kan.) CC is once again the top team in the nation, a position the program has held for four weeks in a row. The Cougars most recently won the team title at the Region VI Championships over the weekend.

Overall, Barton (Kan.) added 19 new marks to the index as they were led by Yoveinny Mota (tops the nation in the 60H), Christal Mosley (third in the 400), Cadeebra Calcote(third in the 600) and Arianna Haude (fourth in the pentathlon).

It is the longest consecutive streak spent atop the country by the Cougars.

Climbing up one spot to No. 2 was New Mexico JC.

The Thunderbirds were at the Texas Tech Matador Qualifier this past weekend as a final tune up against Division I athletes before the NJCAA Championships. Twenty-three new marks were added to the Index overall for the program with top performances coming from Monique Grant (now the nation's best in the pentathlon) and Raheema Westfall (third in the 200). The groups 4×400 is also second in the nation while the 4×800 is now slotted at third overall.

Flip-flopping with them was No. 3 Monroe (N.Y.).

The Mustangs were at the Fastrack Last Chance meet and posted five new marks to their rating. The group was led by Claudrice McKoy who is now second in the country in the 1000.

Jumping up a spot to No. 4 was Cloud County (Kan.) CC.

The T-Birds placed second at the Region VI Championships this weekend, falling to top-ranked Barton (Kan.) CC by 54 points. The program had 16 marks from the championship meet make its way into the ratings with top athlete honors going to Grace Chinonyelum (now leads the country in the triple jump) and Jacqueline Pokuaah (second in the long jump).

Rounding out the top-5 after dropping a single-spot was No. 5 Iowa Central CC after the program won the the Region XI Championships.

The Tritons posted 11 new marks that were added to the index including the one by Maddie Schmoker as she is now fifth overall in the weight throw this season. It was the 14th consecutive year that Iowa Central CC captured the regional crown.

The rest of the top-10 was completed by South Plains (Texas), Central Arizona , Cowley (Kan.), Western Texas and Iowa Western CC.